My Velocity Squared

August 30, 2010

Back on the road from a self imposed exile

Filed under: Uncategorized — smarmbeast @ 3:20 am

You see, I can feel it.

Sitting here on the couch, I can feel it.

The buzz of the asphalt zipping beneath my feet.

The dry stone smell of a thousand different roads on three continents.

The way my blood runs fifty thousand volts electric approaching sweeper curves in in a canyon that rust from time before humans walked the earth.

The sinew that ripples beneath my wrists as they recall over a hundred and fifty thousand miles of celluloid memories burning through my neurons.

The breath that seems to take thirty second to inhale as you setup a turn that might sweep to infinity.

I miss the road. I once thought it was lost.

The road.

Not the road they want you to have of itineraries, dates, plane tickets and luggage carousels.

The road you want.

The road of I’m going that way.

The road of I do not know where I lay my head.

The road that invites you to ride down Ansel’s highway and into yourself.

The road that parboils everything down to DEAD or ALIVE.

The road. It is not my road. I cannot possess it. But I can ride with it for a while. May the ride be good.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

